Alumni Added To Croton-Harmon Hall Of Distinguished Grads

  • Comment
Croton-Harmon High School Principal Alan Capasso, from left, and senior Lucy Stockton congratulate 2012 Hall of Distinguished Graduates inductees John Mearsheimer and Maryjane Giblin Farr along with senior Brendan Roeschel. Photo Credit: Jessica Glenza

CROTON-ON-HUDSON, N.Y. - Croton-Harmon added two alumni to its Hall of Distinguished Graduates, Dr. Maryjane Giblin Farr (1983) and John Mearsheimer (1965). Seventeen distinguished grads now line Croton-Harmon High School's main hallway.

"Many graduates have made significant contributions to their selected professions, have given of themselves through public service, and have achieved excellence in every other walk of life. Present and future students can draw inspiration from their accomplishments," said high school principal Alan Capasso.

Croton-Harmon officials say the Hall of Distinguished Grads was created so successful alumnus can "serve as a model for [Croton-Harmon High School] students."

Farr is a board-certified and published cardiovascular physician. Mearsheimer is a professor of political science and co-director at the University of Chicago.

After graduating from Barnard College with a degree in philosophy, Farr attended Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons and began her medical practice at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical College. She participated in a fellowship in cardiovascular disease and heart failure and transplantation, as well as numerous research projects in areas such as cardiopulmonary exercise and advanced heart failure. Farr currently directs the Heart Failure Program at the Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg Division of Cardiology, associated with Cornell University Hospital, overseeing metabolic testing and therapeutic clinical trials.

After graduating from West Point and serving five years in the U.S. Air Force, Mearsheimer earned both a master’s and doctorate in international relations from the University of Southern California and Cornell University, respectively. He current serves as the R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science and the co-director of the Program on International Security at the University of Chicago. He has written extensively about international security issues and international politics in numerous journals, has authored five books, and often serves as a guest commentator on television and radio.

Since 2006, 17 Croton-Harmon High School graduates have been inducted into the Hall. Previous inductees were Guy Adami, Richard Albert, Daniel Botkin, William Dow, Eric Hoffman, Lawrence Jacobs, Jo Ann Jacobsen, Robert Kerr, Frederick Douglass Opie, Tamra Rosanes, Gordon Sheer, Robert Schulze, Geoffrey Thompson, Margarent Tuxen Akers and Rachel Whetten.

  • Comment


In Other News


Yorktown's Hilltop Hanover Farm To Host Events Through April


Another Cold Night In Cortlandt Could Bring Frost


Guinevere B. Ferris, 98, Of Buchanan


Croton Runner Set For An Especially Meaningful Boston Marathon